The Executive Board has the charge and authority to manage the organization and act on behalf of the organization in a manner which is consistent with the policy, goals and purpose established by the full membership in meetings of the Member Assembly.

Current Executive Board Members


  • President: Joseph Stone, AuSable Valley CMH Authority
  • 1st Vice President: Lois Shulman, Oakland Community Health Network
  • 2nd Vice President: Carl Rice, Jr., LifeWays CMH
  • Secretary: Jim Johnson, Region 10 PIHP
  • Treasurer: Craig Reiter, Hiawatha Behavioral Health
  • Past President: William Davie, Pathways Community Mental Health


Children's Issues Committee

  • Lois Shulman, Oakland Community Health Network
  • Constance Conklin, Livingston County CMH Authority

Contract & Financial Issues Committee

  • Michael Hamm, Newaygo County Mental Health Center
  • Dan Russell, Genesee Health System

Legislation & Policy Committee

  • Jim Shotwell, LifeWays Community Mental Health
  • Lisa Hotovy Williams, West Michigan CMH System

Member Services Committee

  • Louis Burdi, Macomb County CMH Services
  • Vacant, Director Position

Regional Appointees:

Central Region

  • Debra Johnson, St. Clair County CMH Services
  • Douglas Ward, CMH for Central Michigan
  • Hank Weitenberner, Huron Behavioral Health
  • Sharon Beals, Tuscola Behavioral Health Systems (Alternate)
  • Elva Mills, Sanilac County CMH (Alternate)

Metro Region

  • Linda Busch, Macomb County CMH Services
  • John Kinch, Macomb County CMH Services
  • Malkia Newman, Oakland Community Health Network
  • Willie Brooks, Oakland Community Health Network (Alternate)
  • Dorothy Burrell, Detroit Wayne Mental Health Authority (Alternate)

Northern Region

  • Michael Welsch, AuSable Valley CMH Authority
  • Vacant, Director Representative
  • Sr. Augusta Stratz, North County Community Mental Health
  • Karl Kovacs, Northern Lakes CMH Authority (Alternate)
  • Nicole Miller, Northern Lakes CMH Authority (Alternate)

PIHP Delegates

  • Randall Kamps, Region 2
  • Linda Keller, Region 10
  • William Slavin, Region 1
  • Edward Woods, Region 5

Provider Alliance

  • Samuel Price, Ten Sixteen Recovery Network
  • Ben Robinson, Rose Hill Center
  • Kathleen Swantek, Blue Water Developmental Housing
  • Jacquline Wilson, Training and Treatment Innovations

Southeast Region

  • Jan Plas, Livingston County CMH Authority
  • Maribeth Leonard, LifeWays CMH
  • Paul Palmer, CMH Authority of Clinton-Eaton-Ingham Counties
  • Sara Lurie, CMH Authority of Clinton-Eaton-Ingham Counties (Alternate)
  • James Neumann, Monroe CMH Authority (Alternate)

UP Region

  • Jim Moore, Hiawatha Behavioral Health
  • Mary Swift, Pathways Community Mental Health
  • John Shoberg, Hiawatha Behavioral Health
  • Vacant, (Board Member Alternate position)
  • Dan McKinney, Hiawatha Behavioral Health (Alternate)

Western Region

  • Clinton Galloway, The Right Door for Hope, Recovery and Wellness
  • Adele Hansen, Newaygo County Mental Health Center
  • Julia Rupp, HealthWest
  • Tammy Quillan, Montcalm Care Network (Alternate)
  • Harold Mast, network180 (Alternate)


2018 Executive Board Schedule (at CMHAM Office, unless otherwise indicated)

  • February 5, 4:00pm (at Winter Conference, Radisson Plaza, Kalamazoo)
  • April 13, 9:00am
  • May 14, 4:00pm (at Spring Conference, Location TBD)
  • August 3, 9:00am
  • October 21, 4:00pm (at Fall Conference, Grand Traverse Resort, Traverse City)
  • December 7